fuel’s One Year Anniversary

Holy Moly Guacamole!!!!

It has been just a little over  one year since I started the fuel blog. What a year it has been. M and I went car-free, got to check out some rather tasty food trucks in town, went paleo (80/20 I would say), and  learned how to repair our bikes. I have picked up a few followers for the site. We have even started repaying our student loans! Which means we have also started to do a b-u-d-g-e-t. We even went so far as to purchase a budgeting software, YNAB for those you  who are dying to know.

While our parents sat down and paid the bills, I am not sure if they ever tried budgeting. Even if they did, they never showed their kids the ropes.

Okay, I know what you are thinking. “Fuel, what does budgeting have to do with food or transportation?” So, much more than you may realize my friends…so much more.

Okay, so where am I going with this? I started to follow YNAB’s blog and you guessed it, it is all about budgeting  (yeah I know, I am a nerd) and a few of the more recent posts have been about getting your grocery bill under control. I decided to put in my 2 cents about getting M and my grocery category under control. The first thing I needed to state was that food is fuel and we need it to survive. M and I are okay with groceries being one of our bigger budget categories.

This allowed me to bring up the fact that M and I went car free last summer. I got a few comments on how awesome it was that we were able to give up our car.

The car can be a really big budget hog (payments, insurance, repairs, rear view mirror bling…) and getting rid of the car has allowed us to buy better quality food. We no longer shop at Sprouts, which does have good food, but they have limited fresh food and  sometimes the meat’s quality is a little suspect. We shop at Whole Foods now, which is something we could not afford back when we had a car.

Okay, so back to getting the grocery category under control. We began using the budget software just a little over a month ago. So far so good, or so I thought. After reading a few of the grocery blogs I decided to run a report on or grocery category. This is what I discovered. While we were well within our budget for our regular once a week trip to Whole Foods I was shock to discover that we spent and extra $100 this month at the store up the street just on snacks for our night-time TV viewing. The crazy thing is, we buy night-time snacks for our TV viewing when we go to Whole Foods! The worst part about these extra trips…not one item was Paleo. Oh, the shame. Okay, not really, but I was surprised how many times we go off menu in a one month period. M and I have agreed to take the time and actually think about these night-time snack excursions before we head out the door next time.

until tomorrow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

