Food Truck Friday: Paleo Cowboy Burger

It has been 6 weeks since M and I went paleo. I am starting to feel more energized. I was getting a little spent there near the end on the Whole30 reset. Now I am feeling like my usual self and I have finally been able to feel full for more than an hour or two. Just upped my protein and fat content at breakfast and dinner and now all is well.

The last time I posted I was gearing up for the Duke City Food Truck Throwdown. It totally did not happen, due to some poor planning by the event promoters. I won’t get into the details, but I will say that there were lots of disappointed people in Albuquerque that weekend. They are supposedly rescheduling, but honestly I don’t even care because they handled the cancellation aspect so poorly and unprofessionally. All I can hope for is that they learned a valuable lesson from this mishap.

Okay, moving on. The state fair has begun here in the land of Enchantment, which means one thing. The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is just a few weeks away. I don’t really care about seeing all the balloons in the sky. What I do like is walking though them all as they are inflating. Last year M and I rode our bikes down to the park. It’s only a 10 mile ride, but you have to leave a 530 in the morning. Which of course means you end up eating breakfast there. New Mexican food is not very paleo. Tortillas, cheese, potatoes and beans are a staple here.

Don’t tell anyone, but I think we might pack a breakfast in this year. I think the smell of breakfast burritos, frito pie and hot chocolate might be to much of a temptation that early in the morning.

Okay now for the good stuff. Food.

One of my favorite foods is burgers. The cowboy burger is my all time favorite, but it is loaded with cheese. Cheese is not paleo and, as I discovered on the reset, does not make my stomach happy. This week I reinvented the burger and it is dang tasty.

Here is what you need:

1 lbs grass fed and finished ground beef

4 ounces of frozen bacon ( though of few slices in before you head off to work)
8 ounces of crimini mushrooms
1-2 hatch green chili peppers ( jalapeño or serrano will do just fine, just nothing from a can)
Salt
Pepper
2 tbsp of ghee ( or if you save your bacon fat use that instead.)
Red lettuce leaves
1 Roma tomato
4 eggs
Side of veggies ( you pick)

Here is how you make ’em:

1. Chop the mushrooms into tiny pieces.

2. Warm up half the ghee in a skillet over medium heat and add the mushrooms. Stirring on occasion until they shrink and all the moisture evaporates. Turn off the heat and set the pan aside.

3. While the mushrooms are resting take the seeds out of your peppers and chop them up and throw them in a large mixing bowl.

4. Pull the bacon from the freezer and chop it into little pieces. I like to cut the slices down the middle ( long way) first and the chop them into little pieces ( short side). Throw the bacon in the bowl.

5. Break up the beef into smaller chunks and throw it in the bowl.

6. Add salt and pepper to taste.

7. Grab the mushrooms and …you guessed it…throw them in the bowl.

8. With your hands gently mix all the ingredients together.

9. Portion up the patties into four 6 ounce portions, or three 8 ounce portions if you are really hungry like I was. You will only need 3 eggs in this case.

10. Add the remaining ghee to the skillet you cooked the mushrooms in.

11. Once the ghee melts add they patties and cook until lightly pink inside. About 4-5 minutes per side for 6 ounce patties and 6-7 minutes per side for 8 ounce patties. Cook you veggies in another pan while the burgers cook.

12. Once the patties are done, lay them on a paper towel to absorb the extra fat.

13. Slice the tomato.

14. While the patties are setting up. Fry up your eggs and your tomato slices

15. Build the burger like this: lettuce, burger, fried egg and fried tomatoes. Serve with a big portion of vegetables of your choosing. I went for sautéed spinach.

Paleo Cowboy Burger

until tomorrow

Leave a Reply

