Food Truck Friday: Another Experiment

A few weeks back I posted about Paleo food trucks in other cities. All the research I ended up doing on the Paleo Foodies got me doing some thinking. Last New Years M and I did a detox. It was hell for M, and I was always hungry. But we felt good about doing it. One thing that it taught us was to be more mindful about what we are eating. We still like eating junk food, but we try to eat better junk food. Now I am not saying that we eat healthy junk food. I don’t think that is even a possibility. Organic Cheesy-poofs are not healthy just because they are organic. What I am saying is that when we eat junk food, we try to go for quality. So now our popcorn is popped in coconut oil instead of canola oil. It’s still popcorn, just popped in an oil that is less likely to turn into unhealthy trans-fat at a high heat. Coconut oil has one of the highest smoke points, which is what makes it good for cooking. Olive oil has a very low smoke point which is why it should be used for dressings and other cold preparations.

So this is what I am thinking I will do. I won’t  go all Paleo, but I will do a Paleo reset for a month. At the end of the month I will allow back in some of the foods on the Paelo no-no list. Maybe entirely maybe just occasionally, maybe I will save all the not Paleo foods for my Food Truck Friday outings. So starting next week I am going to give it a go and my Food Truck Friday post will be about the experience. At the end of the month we can get back to our regularly scheduled program.

man with a dino bone in his mouth

not me, some random guy on the web

 

until tomorrow

Leave a Reply

