Food Truck Friday: not so fast!

As you may recall, I have been extremely busy the past few weeks finishing up my professional project so that I can finally graduate and had little time for anything thing else in life. This includes doing any research for the Food Truck Friday Posts.

I finished. So now I can research the trucks once again!

Here is a little researching I did with my eyes, my stomach will get the chance later this weekend.

On a whim I decided to Google   Paleo + Food Truck. I am not paleo, but I have a few friends that are, so they are the inspiration for this post. From what I can tell there are no paleo food trucks in Albuquerque. Although, I have heard through the rumor mill that the Rustic truck will accommodate the paleo palate. I don’t know a lot about what it means to eat paleo, so I had to do a little research on this as well.

This is what I found:

Paleo is about eating meat and plants. Grass-fed, free range, running around the pasture raised meats and fresh, organic vegetables, fruits, fungi, roots and nuts. Nothing from a brightly colored box or can. No grains, legumes, sugar, dairy, salt. or soy. Yes, I know soy is a legume, but apparently this vegetarian staple in almost all its various forms is an unhealthy filler food-stuff.  Edamame is a whole food, soy deli slices is not. There are some paleo people who eat a few types of organic legumes and dairy as long as it is all natural (no artificially yellow or almost orange cheeses) from grass-fed, pasture raised…well you get the idea.

Okay, back to the food truck. No paleo food trucks in Albuquerque. However, there are a few around the country that are paleo  or paleo friendly.  It seems there a few more are in the works if they can get raise enough kick starter capital.

Here is a list of the ones I found if you are ever visiting Indiana, Seattle, Idaho or San Diego.

Caveman Truck in Indiana

Outside the Box Food Truck  in Seattle WA

Paleo Shack in Boise ID

Not So Fast has two trucks in San Diego, the Not So Fast and Not II Fast

beefeater

  ​spicy fish taco

I have to say, just looking at the burger and fish tacos is making me hungry. I have decided to send this out into the world and beg some amazing paleo chef to get a kick starter loan and bring local, organic, grass-fed to a food truck in Albuquerque. Amazing paleo chef, if you are reading this… I am begging you.

until tomorrow

Leave a Reply

